Global Leadership Awards 2019 Announced

LOBA is proud to introduce the winners of this year’s Global Leadership Awards. They were selected by a jury comprising of the Principal of Loyola School Fr Devassy Paul SJ, former chief secretary Dr K Jayakumar IAS and noted author Mrs Khyrunnisa.

Sujith Varghese Thomas of the 1993 batch is the recipient of the Global Leadership award. After his MBBS and MS in General Surgery from CMC,Vellore, he has spent the last 11 years rebuilding the 100 year old Broadwell Hospital at Fatehpur, UP from a dilapidated and ramshackle structure in one of the most backward districts of the country into one of the finest in UP. He has initiated many community projects to help the citizens of the area with primary and preventive health care. Their palliative care unit is a model for the whole state today, giving people in their dying hours the dignity they deserve. The journey was laden with pitfalls- suspicion, administrative apathy, lack of funds, and even death threats. Sujith and his family have shown all of us what can be achieved with grit, compassion and single-minded focus. He is truly a leader and role model for us, and indeed, for every Indian.

Sanjay Vijayakumar of the 2000 batch is the recipient of the Young Achiever Award. His present roles include Chairman of the Startup Village Board, Kochi, member of the board of the APJ Abdul Kalam Technical University, Kerala, member of the AICTE startup implementation committee, among others. Founding MobMe straight out of college and raising it to international fame was only the beginning. He remains passionate in encouraging youngsters to build startups in multiple states in India, with the backing of the governments and NASSCOM. He is also deeply interested in developing curricula for the students of today to make them future-ready.


Sujith Varghese Thomas, Batch of 1993 - GLA winner (left)
Sanjay Vijayakumar, Batch of 2000 - Young Achiever Award (right)

Please join me in congratulating Sujith and Sanjay for their achievements. We hope that their achievements will prove inspirational to us.

The ExCom also welcomes all of you to the Awards evening later in June this year.

Ram Mohan
President, LOBA